With Onyx Adore still very fresh in our ears, Detroit label Soiree Records International has brought together some great talent to bring us SRT164, titled Device.

Soiree, run by label boss Derrick Thompson aka Drivetrain, has been a staple in Detroit house and techno since 1990. It has thrived within Detroit, focusing on the intricate, more rhythmic side of electronic music.

Soiree nails this down by enlisting creativity that challenges sounds and technique, featuring artists like Lisa Ruzza, Glenn Vernon, DJ Scott, Key Statements, Kiata, Nu Cezn, Wilhelm K, Glass House Projectz, Jerry The Cat aka Jerrald James, Andy Vaz,  Maehara Motomitsu, Santonio Echols, Rennie Foster, Cloudmasterweed, J. Garcia, and Eva Soul, among many others.

Device contains four cuts by four separate artists, featuring Thompson as Drivetrain, French brothers David and Nicolas Gaugain aka G-Prod, Dutch techno heavyweight Orlando Voorn, and French newcomer Undergroove. For the A-side, Time brings out a menacing sound with its fleeting stabs and heavy bassline. Sub-Atomic Creation continues the style of eerie, dark sounds and pushes its boundaries with a detailed mesh of hypnotic chords and pads. For the B-side, Orlando Voorn delivers strong, eccentric Detroit flavor with a funky and energetic techno cut that’s sure to move some feet. Undergroove closes the EP with a pumpin’, euphoric track that is as powerful as it is beautiful.

Soiree is set to release Device on June 13 on vinyl and digital formats. You can preorder the 12″ on Red Eye and Juno and snag the digital release on Traxsource.

Stream Device in full below.


A1 Drivetrain – Time

A2 G-Prod – Sub-Atomic Creation

B1 Orlando Voorn – Tribulations

B2 Undergroove – Feelin Deep House